What Did You Expect...?: Songs About the Experiences of Being Gay

What Did You Expect...?: Songs About the Experiences of Being Gay

Michael Cohen FW08582 / FS 8582 / FG 8582

The late 1960s-early 1970s marked an important stage in the LGBTQ rights movement in the United States, and singer-songwriter Michael Cohen was a pioneering voice on the personal experience of being gay during this period. His poetic lyrics deal with coming out, drug use, love, promiscuity, self-doubt and self-worth. Out of "bitter beginnings...I'll know my life is worth living." Liner notes include handwritten lyrics and illustrations.

Year Released 1973
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1973 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk; Struggle & Protest
Country(s) United States
Language(s) English
Subject(s) Folksong revival; Protest songs

Download Liner Notes

101 The Last Angry Young Man Michael Cohen 5:06
102 Gone Michael Cohen 4:53
103 Pray to your God Michael Cohen 4:30
104 Bitter Beginnings Michael Cohen 3:39
105 Praised Be Michael Cohen 4:02
201 Bitterfeast Michael Cohen 3:22
202 When I Grow Cold Michael Cohen 4:35
203 Orion Michael Cohen 4:40
204 Couldn't do Without Michael Cohen 5:10
Comments powered by Disqus