Free and Equal Blues

Free and Equal Blues

Josh White SFW40081

Josh White (1914-1969) was a brilliant musician whose vibrant guitar and rich vocals captivated audiences for decades. Recorded at the height of his career by Moses Asch in the 1940s, he performs these 26 blues, gospel, popular, and hard-hitting topical songs solo or accompanied by such contemporaries as Lead Belly, Mary Lou Williams, and the Almanac Singers. Extensive biographical notes, photographs, archivist's remarks, bibliography, and discography. 74 minutes. Produced and compiled by Jeff Place and Elijah Wald. Additional annotation by Kip Lornell.

Year Released 1998
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 1998 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) American Folk; Blues
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) African American
Instrument(s) Guitar; Piano; Trumpet; Vocals
Language(s) English
Subject(s) Blues; Folksong revival; Jazz

Download Liner Notes

101 One Meat Ball Josh White 3:11
102 In My Time of Dying Josh White 3:14
103 Free and Equal Blues Josh White 4:29
104 Number 12 Train Josh White 3:39
105 Jim Crow Josh White 2:48
106 Landlord Josh White 2:37
107 Betty and Dupree Josh White 3:46
108 Trouble Josh White 2:40
109 Beloved Comrade Josh White 2:03
110 Hold On Josh White 2:13
111 Jelly Jelly Josh White 2:27
112 When I Lay Down Josh White 2:36
113 The House I Live In Josh White 2:31
114 Fuhrer Josh White 3:10
115 Minute Man Josh White and Mary Lou Williams 2:06
116 Take a Gal Like You Josh White 3:10
117 Whatcha Gonna Do (Sometime) Josh White 1:14
118 Don't Lie Buddy Josh White 2:21
119 Motherless Children Josh White 2:30
120 No More Blues (No More Bread Lines) Josh White 2:45
121 Mean Mistreatin' Woman Josh White 3:10
122 Freedom Road Josh White 2:20
123 Miss Otis Regrets Josh White 2:58
124 Careless Love Josh White 3:22
125 T.B. Blues Josh White 3:21
126 Outskirts of Town Josh White 3:02
Comments powered by Disqus