Smithsonian Institution
Join Our Email Newsletter
Gift Certificates Now Available
SI Membership

The Sounding Joy: Christmas Songs In and Out of the Ruth Crawford Seeger Songbook


Year of Recording
Record Label
Source Archive
101 Oh, Mary and the Baby, Sweet Lamb Elizabeth Mitchell 1:36
102 Mary Had a Baby Elizabeth Mitchell 3:10
103 Rise Up, Shepherd, and Follow Elizabeth Mitchell, Mike Merenda 2:43
104 January, February (Last Month of the Year) Elizabeth Mitchell, Amy Helm, Marco Benevento 3:59
105 Joseph and Mary (The Cherry Tree Carol) Elizabeth Mitchell, Natalie Merchant 4:40
106 Shine Like a Star in the Morning Elizabeth Mitchell, Simi Stone 1:28
107 Joy to the World Elizabeth Mitchell, Jay Ungar 3:05
108 Christmas Day in the Morning Elizabeth Mitchell, Peggy Seeger 2:19
109 Mother’s Child (Child of God) Elizabeth Mitchell, Peggy Seeger 2:27
110 Sing-a-Lamb Elizabeth Mitchell, Dan Zanes, Suzan Lori-Parks 1:56
111 Great Big Stars Elizabeth Mitchell 1:33
112 Baby Born Today Elizabeth Mitchell, Amy Helm, Marco Benevento, Ruthy Ungar, Chris Wood, Larry Campbell 2:37
113 Ain’t That a-Rockin’ All Night Elizabeth Mitchell 1:56
114 Cradle Hymn Elizabeth Mitchell 2:40
115 Bright Morning Stars Are Rising Elizabeth Mitchell 3:14
116 Sing Hallelu Elizabeth Mitchell, Elizabeth Clark-Jerez 1:46
117 The First Noel Elizabeth Mitchell 2:41
118 The Blessings of Mary Elizabeth Mitchell, Larry Campbell 4:04
119 Oh, Watch the Stars Elizabeth Mitchell, Aoife O’Donovan 2:17
120 Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming Elizabeth Mitchell 1:41
121 Mary Was the Queen of Galilee Elizabeth Mitchell, Gail Ann Dorsey, Joan Osborne 2:24
122 Silent Night Elizabeth Mitchell 3:21
123 Singing in the Land Elizabeth Mitchell, Natalie Merchant, Happy Traum, John Sebastian 5:47
124 Children, Go Where I Send Thee Elizabeth Mitchell, Natalie Merchant, Amy Helm, Ruthy Ungar, Gail Ann Dorsey, Dan Zanes, Aoife O'Donovan, Simi Stone 6:55