Little Seed: Songs for Children by Woody Guthrie

Elizabeth Mitchell SFW45072

In Little Seed, Elizabeth Mitchell embraces the gentle genius of America’s musical bard, Woody Guthrie. The simple yet profound songs he wrote for his young children remind us of how the loving bonds between parent and child endure and are strengthened through music. Joined by family and friends, Elizabeth Mitchell offers us re-imagined renditions of classic Guthrie favorites. Her thoughtful versions pay tribute to Guthrie’s uncanny ability to inhabit both the perspective of a loving, protective parent and the voice of a freewheeling child. Features eight newly-recorded tracks and five previously-issued favorites. 13 tracks, 29 minutes, 20-page booklet with photos.

Year Released 2012
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2012 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) Children's
Country(s) United States
Instrument(s) Balafon; Banjo; Chest thumps; Drums; Fiddle; Flute; Guitar; Harmonium; Knee slaps; Mandolin; Melodica; Percussion; Piano; Shakers; Sound effects; Upright bass; Vocals; Wood blocks; Wood flute; Zzoe ngoni
Language(s) English

Download Liner Notes

101 Riding In My Car Elizabeth Mitchell 2:46
102 Bling Blang Elizabeth Mitchell 1:57
103 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Elizabeth Mitchell 1:40
104 Why, Oh Why Elizabeth Mitchell 3:11
105 Sleep Eye Elizabeth Mitchell 2:18
106 Who's My Pretty Baby? Elizabeth Mitchell 1:53
107 Rattle My Rattle Elizabeth Mitchell 1:24
108 This Land Is Your Land Elizabeth Mitchell 4:12
109 Merry-Go-Round Elizabeth Mitchell 2:01
110 One Day Old Elizabeth Mitchell 1:57
111 Little Sugar Elizabeth Mitchell 1:55
112 Grassy Grass Grass Elizabeth Mitchell 0:56
113 Little Seed Elizabeth Mitchell 3:26
Comments powered by Disqus