Click image above to view gallery

Click image above to view gallery

Folkways: The Original Vision

Woody Guthrie and Lead Belly SFW40000

Original Vision is the milestone 1989 recordings of classic roots Americana that helped launch the nonprofit Smithsonian Folkways label. To celebrate the 15th anniversary of this historic album, Smithsonian Folkways expanded the original CD with 6 bonus tracks, enhanced packaging, and extended notes. The album now provides even more insight into the impact of Woody Guthrie and Lead Belly over the last half century. 28-page illustrated booklet, 60 minutes.

Year Released 2005
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2005 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) American Folk; American Popular
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) American
Instrument(s) Bass; Guitar; Harmonica; Mandolin; Piano; Talking; Vocals
Language(s) English

Download Liner Notes

101 Bring Me a Little Water, Sylvie Lead Belly 0:49
102 Pretty Boy Floyd Woody Guthrie 3:00
103 Do-Re-Mi Woody Guthrie 2:31
104 I Ain't Got No Home in This World Anymore Woody Guthrie 2:45
105 Jesus Christ Woody Guthrie 2:37
106 Cotton Fields Lead Belly 2:07
107 Rock Island Line Lead Belly 2:02
108 Grand Coulee Dam Woody Guthrie 2:10
109 4, 5, and 9 Lead Belly 2:34
110 Will Geer Reading Woody Guthrie Will Geer 0:56
111 Hard Traveling Woody Guthrie 2:31
112 Fannin Street Lead Belly 3:02
113 Philadelphia Lawyer Woody Guthrie 2:29
114 Hobo's Lullaby Woody Guthrie 2:24
115 Bourgeois Blues Lead Belly 2:18
116 Gray Goose Lead Belly 1:25
117 Irene Lead Belly 1:53
118 Vigilante Man Woody Guthrie 3:23
119 Gallis Pole Lead Belly 2:45
120 This Land Is Your Land Woody Guthrie 2:17
121 Talking Hard Work Woody Guthrie 3:23
122 Midnight Special Lead Belly 2:02
123 In the Pines Lead Belly 2:07
124 Pastures of Plenty Woody Guthrie 2:25
125 Car Song Woody Guthrie 1:50
126 We Shall Be Free Woody Guthrie and Lead Belly 2:33
Comments powered by Disqus