The Blues is Life

The Blues is Life

Victoria Spivey FW03541 / FS 3541

“The Blues is life and life is the Blues. It covers from the first cry of a newborn to the last gasp of a dying man. It’s the very existence.” And Victoria Spivey took the blues business very seriously, from her many recording contracts to her performance schedule. These thirteen original compositions were written specifically for this recording, and range from a “No Friends Blues” or a “Slick Chick Blues” to a “Humble Blues” and even “A Sausage Blues.”

Year Released 1976
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1976 Folkways Records
Genre(s) Blues
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) African American
Instrument(s) Drum; Kazoo; Piano; Ukulele; Vocals
Subject(s) Blues

Download Liner Notes

101 By Yourself - A Lonely Woman Blues Victoria Spivey 2:23
102 Eagle and Hawk - Jealousy Blues Victoria Spivey 3:01
103 You're My Man - Slick Chick Blues Victoria Spivey 4:37
104 Don't Worry About It - Two-Timer Blues Victoria Spivey 3:19
105 Low Friends - No Friends Blues Victoria Spivey 2:11
106 Kazoo Papa Blues - Kazoo Blues Victoria Spivey 2:57
201 Don't Care - Angry Blues Victoria Spivey 1:56
202 My Head Is Bad - An Alcohol Blues Victoria Spivey 2:12
203 Six Foot Daddy - Incendiary Blues Victoria Spivey 4:45
204 Can I Wash Your Clothes - Humble Blues Victoria Spivey 2:44
205 Good Sissages - A Sausage Blues Victoria Spivey 1:52
206 Big Black Belt - Simple Minded Woman Blues Victoria Spivey 3:01
Comments powered by Disqus