Selections from Walt Whitman's Leaves of Grass

Selections from Walt Whitman's Leaves of Grass

The University Players FW09750 / FL 9750 / SL 9750

This spoken word recording is composed of 10 poems selected from Walt Whitman’s collection Leaves of Grass. Whitman’s work was first published in 1855 and consisted of just 12 poems; he continued to add to Leaves of Grass for the next 36 years, completing the final edition of 400 poems in 1891. Poems selected for this recording include “Pioneers! O Pioneers!,” “O Captain! My Captain!,” and “I Hear America Singing.” The poems are read by The University Players, whose university and members are unidentified. The liner notes include the text of the 10 poems.

Year Released 1957
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1957 Folkways Records
Genre(s) Poetry
Country(s) United States
Language(s) English
Subject(s) Literature; Spoken word

Download Liner Notes

101 For You O Democracy - "Calamus" The University Players 0:59
102 I Hear America Singing - "Inscriptions" The University Players 1:12
103 Pioneers! O Pioneers! - "Birds of Passage" The University Players 6:33
104 Song of the Open Road - "Calamus" The University Players 18:31
201 This Dust Was Once the Man - "Memories of President Lincoln" The University Players 0:48
202 Hush'd Be the Camps Today The University Players 1:05
203 O Captain, My Captain The University Players 2:12
204 A Boston Ballad - 1854 - "By the Roadside" The University Players 3:20
205 Out of the Cradle Endlessly Rocking - "Sea-Drift" The University Players 11:10
206 Crossing Brooklyn Ferry - "Calamus" The University Players 12:15
Comments powered by Disqus