The Force of Life

The Force of Life

Red Star Singers PAR01023

The Red Star Singers were a San Francisco Bay–area group formed in 1971 “out of the needs of four individuals to unify, share, and socialize our personal experiences as musicians and revolutionaries.” Members were Gary Lapow (guitar and lead vocals), Ron Rosenbaum (guitar and vocals), Mike Margulis (bass, French horn and vocals), and Bonnie Lockhart (percussion and lead vocals). This 1974 release, their only album recording, reflects their views of the social and political events of the period (Vietnam, Watergate, mine workers’ safety). Although recorded in a sound studio, the band invited friends to sit in for several of the selections, most notably for the performance of “Pig Nixon” and “The Force of Life.” The liner notes provide a brief biography about the group, the story behind the recording, and the song lyrics with music notation.

Year Released 1974
Record Label Paredon Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1974 Paredon Records
Genre(s) American Folk; Struggle & Protest
Country(s) United States
Language(s) English
Subject(s) Folksong revival; Political ballads and songs; Protest songs; Topical songs

Download Liner Notes

101 Still Ain't Satisfied Red Star Singers 2:30
102 Sunshine Silver Mine Red Star Singers 5:41
103 I Won't Go Red Star Singers 3:08
104 Can't Be Free Till Everybody Else Is Red Star Singers 4:56
105 Vietnam Will Win! Red Star Singers 5:52
201 Belly of the Monster Red Star Singers 8:04
202 A Women's Health Song Red Star Singers 2:08
203 Pig Nixon Red Star Singers 4:42
204 The Force of Life Red Star Singers 5:36
Comments powered by Disqus