Texas Folk Songs with Hermes Nye and Guitar

Texas Folk Songs with Hermes Nye and Guitar

Hermes Nye FW02128 / FA 2128

The spirit of Hermes Nye's singing emerges in his forthright statement, "Love to sing them, love to hear other people sing them, love to learn new ones. That's about all." These thirteen songs explore the Lone Star State, from a song attributed to desperado Belle Starr to a corrido from south Texas.

Year Released 1955
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1955 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American; Spanish-American
Instrument(s) Guitar; Vocals
Subject(s) Ballads; Corridos; Cowboys--Songs and music; Crime; Folk songs--United States; Folksong revival; Hymns; Marriage; Narrative poetry; Occupational; Prison songs; Protest songs; Railroads; Wit and humor

Download Liner Notes

101 The Devil Made Texas Hermes Nye 2:12
102 Bucking Bronco (My Love is a Rider) Hermes Nye 1:56
103 Bonnie and Clyde Hermes Nye 2:59
104 Bad Brahma Bull Hermes Nye 3:01
105 Amazing Grace Hermes Nye 1:32
106 Buffalo Skinners Hermes Nye 2:01
201 Shorty George Hermes Nye 2:04
202 Boll Weevil Hermes Nye 1:45
203 Diamond Joe Hermes Nye 2:10
204 Sam Bass Hermes Nye 2:00
205 The Toolie's Death Hermes Nye 2:06
206 Corrido de Kansas Hermes Nye 4:51
207 Louisiana Gals Hermes Nye 1:45
Comments powered by Disqus