False True Lovers

False True Lovers

Shirley Collins FW03564 / FG 3564

Shirley Elizabeth Collins delivers these traditional British love songs in her feathery soprano voice. She is accompanied by John Hasted, Ralph Rinzler and Guy Carawan on the guitar and five-string banjo.

Year Released 1959
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1959 Folkways Records
Genre(s) Celtic; World
Country(s) United Kingdom
Instrument(s) Banjo; Button accordion; Guitar; Vocals
Subject(s) Animals; Ballads; Courtship; Grief; Laments; Love songs; Maritime; Marriage; Migration; Mining--Songs and music; Murder; Music--British Isles; Music--Juvenile; Occupational; Supernatural; Tragic songs; Wit and humor

Download Liner Notes

101 I Drew My Ship Shirley Collins 2:23
102 The Irish Boy Shirley Collins 1:37
103 The Spermwhale Fishery Shirley Collins 2:43
104 Dennis O'Reilley - Dennis O'Reilly Shirley Collins 2:07
105 My Bonny Miner Lad Shirley Collins 1:51
106 Just as the Tide Was Flowing Shirley Collins 1:21
107 Bobby Shaftoe Shirley Collins 1:24
108 Richie Story - The Earl of Weymss Shirley Collins 4:08
109 The Unquiet Grave Shirley Collins 4:14
201 The Swapping Song Shirley Collins 1:30
202 Poor Old Horse Shirley Collins 1:12
203 The False True Love Shirley Collins 3:51
204 The Foggy Dew Shirley Collins 2:26
205 Mowing the Barley Shirley Collins 0:56
206 Scarborough Fair Shirley Collins 1:40
207 The Cruel Mother Shirley Collins 7:04
208 The Bonny Cuckoo Shirley Collins 1:30
209 The Queen of May Shirley Collins 1:49
210 Died for Love Shirley Collins 1:54
Comments powered by Disqus