Sea Shanties and Loggers' Songs

Sea Shanties and Loggers' Songs

Sam Eskin FW02019 / FA 2019

Sam Eskin, according to the album’s original notes in 1951, "has been traveling across the United States for thirty-five years, learning songs from all sorts of people in all sorts of places." This fascinating collection of work songs is the product of Eskin’s wandering and includes extensive notes about life in logging camps.

Year Released 1951
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1951 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk; Celtic
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Guitar; Vocals
Subject(s) Folk songs--United States; Folksong revival; Logging--Songs and music.; Sea songs

Download Liner Notes

101 The Rio Grande Sam Eskin 1:32
102 Clear the Track, Let the Bulgine Run Sam Eskin 1:33
103 Heave Away, My Johnny Sam Eskin 2:23
104 Boney Sam Eskin 1:14
105 Johnny Comes Down to Hilo Sam Eskin 1:16
106 The Sailor Loves Sam Eskin 1:12
107 Paddy Doyle's Boots Sam Eskin 0:43
108 A Hundred Years Ago Sam Eskin 0:45
109 Across the Western Ocean Sam Eskin 1:30
201 A Shanty-Man's Life Sam Eskin 2:12
202 River Driver's Song Sam Eskin 1:41
203 The Little Brown Bulls Sam Eskin 3:28
204 The Pinery Boy Sam Eskin 2:48
205 Poor Paddy Works on the Railway Sam Eskin 2:19
Comments powered by Disqus