The High Lonesome Sound (LP edition)

The High Lonesome Sound (LP edition)

Roscoe Holcomb FW02368 / FA 2368

This third Folkways production featuring Roscoe Holcomb follows Mountain Music of Kentucky (FW02317) and The Music of Roscoe Holcomb and Wade Ward (FW2363). All three albums describe the social, geographical, and musical contexts that influenced Holcomb, and this volume's liner notes present selected transcriptions of interviews with this striking banjo player.

Year Released 1965
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1965 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk; Old Time
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Banjo; Fiddle; Guitar; Harmonica
Subject(s) Ballads; Banjo music; Blues; Courtship; Disasters; Folk songs--United States; Hymns; Instrumental music; Murder; Music--Appalachian Region, Southern.; Opera; Regional; Sentimental; Spirituals (Songs); Topical songs; Wit and humor; Work songs

Download Liner Notes

101 Swanno Mountain Roscoe Holcomb 3:20
102 Combs Hotel Burned Down Roscoe Holcomb 2:32
103 Wandering Boy Roscoe Holcomb 4:36
104 Hook and Line Roscoe Holcomb 1:54
105 Barbara Allen Blues Roscoe Holcomb 1:31
106 Married Life Blues Roscoe Holcomb 1:51
107 Fair Miss in the Garden Roscoe Holcomb 3:37
108 Omie Wise Roscoe Holcomb 4:36
109 Willow Tree Roscoe Holcomb 3:02
201 Boat's Up the River Roscoe Holcomb 3:50
202 In the Pines Roscoe Holcomb 2:27
203 Fox Chase Roscoe Holcomb 1:24
204 Coney Isle Roscoe Holcomb 1:52
205 Charles Guitau Roscoe Holcomb 1:21
206 Free Little Bird Roscoe Holcomb 1:59
207 Baby Let Your Hair Roll Down Roscoe Holcomb 2:33
208 Little Bessie Roscoe Holcomb 10:14
Comments powered by Disqus