Sweet Nebraska Land

Sweet Nebraska Land

Roger Welsch FW05337 / FH 5337

Native Nebraskan Roger Welsch, a professor of German and folklore at Nebraska Wesleyan University, is the author of “A Treasury of Nebraska Pioneer Folklore,” containing materials collected by the WPA in Nebraska during the Great Depression. From those he selected many of the songs on this recording. Reflecting Nebraska's history and heritage, he has grouped the songs under five headings: The Crossers, The Settlers, Immigrants, War, and Hard Times.

Mr. Welsch accompanies himself on the 12–string guitar, banjo, and autoharp, while being assisted by Terry Schmitt on vocals and 6–string guitar. The recording was produced by KFMQ, Lincoln, Nebraska, “as a tribute to the Nebraska Centennial Celebration.”

Liner notes provide detailed historical background for each song as well as the lyrics.

Year Released 1965
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1965 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Autoharp; Banjo; Guitar; Vocals
Language(s) English; German
Subject(s) Folk songs--United States

Download Liner Notes

101 Whoa, Haw, Buck and Jerry Boy Roger Welsch 1:30
102 Sweet Betsy from Pike Roger Welsch 2:55
103 Sioux Indians Roger Welsch 3:23
104 Cole Younger Roger Welsch 4:08
105 Goodbye, Old Paint Roger Welsch 5:13
106 The Horse Wrangler Roger Welsch 3:10
107 Little Old Sod Shanty Roger Welsch 3:20
108 Sweet Nebraska Land Roger Welsch 2:00
201 Schön Schätzlein, Was Hab' Ich Erfahren? Roger Welsch 4:28
202 Just Before the Battle, Mother Roger Welsch 5:17
203 Hard, Hard Times Roger Welsch 3:32
204 Dear Prairie Home Roger Welsch 4:00
205 The Patches on My Pants Roger Welsch 1:30
206 The Farmer is the Man Roger Welsch 2:07
207 Stay on the Farm, Boys Roger Welsch 3:31
Comments powered by Disqus