Dulcimer Songs and Solos

Dulcimer Songs and Solos

Paul Clayton FW03571 / FG 3571

Paul Clayton plays a three-string southern mountain dulcimer and sings songs that largely originated in North Carolina, Virginia, Kentucky and Tennessee. About this album, Clayton says “I have tried to demonstrate the versatility of the dulcimer and to show it as an instrument capable of a variety of moods and effects.”

Year Released 1962
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1962 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Appalachian dulcimer; Dulcimer
Subject(s) Ballads; Banjo music; Crime; Fiddle tunes; Folksong revival; Heroic tales; Instrumental music; Laments; Love songs; Maritime; Marriage; Murder; Railroads; Tragic songs; Wit and humor

Download Liner Notes

101 Flop-Eared Mule Paul Clayton 1:37
102 Old Joe Clark Paul Clayton 2:26
103 False Love Paul Clayton 2:09
104 Soldier's Joy Paul Clayton 1:19
105 Going to Georgia Paul Clayton 2:34
106 Shady Grove Paul Clayton 1:36
107 Bile Them Cabbage Down Paul Clayton 0:52
108 Mary Hamilton Paul Clayton 5:04
109 Charley's Rant Paul Clayton 1:39
110 John Henry Paul Clayton 2:11
111 Lonesome Road Paul Clayton 3:10
201 Sad and Lonely Paul Clayton 2:38
202 Cedar Mountain Breakdown Paul Clayton 2:04
203 Swannanoa Tunnel Paul Clayton 3:21
204 Dogwood Paul Clayton 0:55
205 Storms on the Ocean Paul Clayton 2:37
206 Mattie Groves (Child No. 81) Paul Clayton 4:42
207 John Hardy Paul Clayton 3:40
208 Chinese Breakdown Paul Clayton 1:18
209 Georgia Buck Paul Clayton 2:30
210 All the Good Times Are O'er Paul Clayton 2:59
Comments powered by Disqus