New Orleans Brass Bands: Through the Streets of the City

Various Artists SFW40212

For more than a century, the signature sound of New Orleans has been the brass band — at once a source of celebration, collective expression, and community pride. New Orleans Brass Bands: Through the Streets of the City , brings together for the first time in one recording three musical generations that represent three dominant styles of brass bands. The 15-track, newly recorded collection spans the full spectrum of New Orleans brass band music, both as it exists today and extending back through the tradition’s history. Featured are the classic sound of the Liberty Brass Band, the modern-yet-traditional Treme Brass Band, and the funk, rap, and “bounce” influenced Hot 8 Brass Band. Together, they offer a dynamic portrait of this vibrant and distinctively American tradition.

This recording is the seventh release in the Smithsonian Folkways African American Legacy Series, co-presented with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture.

Please enjoy a free download of “The Sheik of Araby” by Treme Brass Band

The Sheik of ArabyMP3 FLAC

Hot 8 Brass Band - Overcoming Adversity Through Music
Liberty Brass Band Performs Liberty Funeral March

Year Released 2015
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2015 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) African American Music; Jazz & Ragtime
Country(s) United States
Instrument(s) Baritone (Musical instrument); Bass drum; Clarinet; Saxophone; Snare drum; Sousaphone; Tambourine; Trombone; Trumpet; Vocals
Language(s) English

Download Liner Notes

101 Paul Barbarin’s Second Line Liberty Brass Band 4:14
102 The Sheik of Araby Treme Brass Band 3:41
103 Panama Liberty Brass Band 5:25
104 Liberty Funeral March Liberty Brass Band 4:52
105 Steamin’ Blues Hot 8 Brass Band 3:35
106 We Shall Walk Through the Streets of the City Treme Brass Band 4:12
107 Keepin’ It Funky Hot 8 Brass Band 6:43
108 Old Rugged Cross Liberty Brass Band 5:40
109 Grazing in the Grass Treme Brass Band 4:45
110 New Orleans (After the City) Hot 8 Brass Band 6:48
111 Give Me My Money Back Treme Brass Band 4:09
112 Lily of the Valley Liberty Brass Band 3:23
113 Shake It and Break It Hot 8 Brass Band 4:32
114 Amazing Grace Treme Brass Band 3:42
115 Whoopin’ Blues Liberty Brass Band 4:02
Comments powered by Disqus