First Songs

First Songs

Michael Hurley FW03581 / FG 3581

A self-taught folk singer and guitarist, Michael Hurley plays music reflective of his upbringing in the rural backcountry of Bucks County, Pennsylvania. Recorded when he was 22, First Songs was released in 1964 and is described by album producer and recording engineer Frederic Ramsey Jr. as "less frenetic, more in-looking, more expressive" than his early "rambling" days on the road. Hurley’s compositions from First Songs and other albums have been recorded by many contemporary artists including Espers, Vetiver, The Violent Femmes, and Cat Power. 12 tracks, 50 minutes, with liner notes which include Hurley's biography and song lyrics.

Year Released 1964
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1964 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Fiddle; Guitar
Subject(s) Folksong revival; Nostalgia

Download Liner Notes

101 Blue Mountain Michael Hurley 6:20
102 You Get Down by the Pool Hall Clickety Clack - Sister Song Michael Hurley 3:35
103 I Like My Wine Michael Hurley 2:26
104 No, No, No, I Won't Come (Go) Down No More Michael Hurley 4:12
105 The Tea Song Michael Hurley 7:28
201 Just a Bum Michael Hurley 2:45
202 Raven Rock - They Took Away the Diesel Michael Hurley 2:30
203 Fat Mama Michael Hurley 4:06
204 The Animal Song - If I Could Ramble Like a Hound Michael Hurley 4:44
205 Captain Kidd Michael Hurley 2:16
206 Intersoular Blues Michael Hurley 4:05
207 The Werewolf Song Michael Hurley 5:42
Comments powered by Disqus