From Now On

From Now On

Michael Doucet SFW40177

From Now On is a Cajun tour-de-force of distilled Michael Doucet, the much admired leader of the Grammy-winning group BeauSoleil. Nineteen tracks of wide-ranging repertoire and pared-down instrumentation of solo fiddle, fiddle-plus-one, and solo accordion showcase Doucet's stylistic mastery, eclectic musical grounding, and creative spirit. Cajun, Creole, blues, Buddhism, gospel, and much more inspire this "solo gombo" of fun and fine artistry. 67 minutes, 19 tracks, 28-page booklet with extensive notes.

2008 GRAMMY Award Nominee for Best Zydeco or Cajun Album

Michael Doucet

Year Released 2008
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2008 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) Cajun & Zydeco
Instrument(s) Fiddle

Download Liner Notes

101 Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky Michael Doucet, Todd Duke 5:52
102 Le Two-Step de Basile Michael Doucet 2:40
103 Bee de la Manche Michael Doucet 3:50
104 Madame Boudreaux Michael Doucet, Todd Duke 4:42
105 Chez Denouse Michael Doucet, Mitchell Reed 3:03
106 A Closer Walk with Thee / I Know Michael Doucet, Todd Duke 4:22
107 Reels de Mamou Michael Doucet 5:36
108 L'amour ou la folie Michael Doucet, Mitchell Reed 2:30
109 Fonky Bayou Michael Doucet, Todd Duke 4:35
110 Amédée's Accordion Michael Doucet 2:17
111 Contredanse de Mamou Michael Doucet 2:17
112 Brasse le gombo vite (Stir the Gombo Fast) Michael Doucet, Mitchell Reed 2:08
113 New Orleans Michael Doucet, Todd Duke 3:04
114 Wade's Two-step Michael Doucet 2:53
115 Chère Evangeline Michael Doucet, Mitchell Reed 2:52
116 Happy One-Step Michael Doucet, Mitchell Reed 3:49
117 Madame Young Michael Doucet 2:26
118 St. Louis Blues Michael Doucet, Todd Duke 5:39
119 You Gotta Move Michael Doucet 3:16
Comments powered by Disqus