Some of Us Had to Live

Some of Us Had to Live

Michael Cohen FW08583 / FS 8583

New York City-based singer-songwriter (and cab driver) Michael Cohen (1951-1997) released only three recordings during his life, including two for Folkways Records: What Did You Expect in 1973 and Some of Us Had to Live in 1976. Cohen was an early performer of songs dealing with gay themes. For example, in "Poison Darts" the song's narrator tells of his partner's struggle over his sexual orientation.

Cohen plays guitar, piano, and Arp synthesizer and is accompanied by flute, organ, bass, and percussion. The liner notes include lyric; artwork features the drawings of Sue Apter.

Year Released 1976
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1976 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk; Struggle & Protest
Country(s) United States
Language(s) English
Subject(s) Folksong revival; Protest songs

Download Liner Notes

101 Soren Michael Cohen 2:29
102 Poison Darts Michael Cohen 3:31
103 Oracle (On Main Street) Michael Cohen 3:02
104 The Riddled Song Michael Cohen 2:00
105 Millstone Michael Cohen 2:17
106 Dyin' Day Michael Cohen 5:01
201 Spend Your Love With Me Michael Cohen 2:33
202 Ward Six Revisited Michael Cohen 3:00
203 Don Michael Cohen 3:24
204 Sole Inheritor Michael Cohen 5:07
205 In a Dream, Again Michael Cohen 4:11
Comments powered by Disqus