Mary Lou Williams

Mary Lou Williams

Mary Lou Williams FW02843 / FJ 2843

So versatile that she was able to sustain a professional career for more than thirty years, jazz pianist, composer and arranger Mary Lou Williams ran the gamut from Dixieland to swing, bop and avant-garde. This album is among her 1960s avant-garde works, with intimate piano combos and vocal jazz choruses; it includes her well-known cantata, The Black Christ of the Andes (also available remastered and reissued on SFW40816 as a CD, complete with extensive liner notes and historic photos).

Year Released 1964
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1964 Folkways Records
Genre(s) Jazz & Ragtime
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) African American
Instrument(s) Bass; Bass clarinet; Drum; Guitar; Piano; Saxophone
Subject(s) Choral music; Gospel music; Hymns; Instrumental music; Jazz; Religious; Spirituals (Songs)

Download Liner Notes

101 Black Christ of the Andes (St. Martin de Porres) Mary Lou Williams 6:39
102 It Ain't Necessarily So Mary Lou Williams 4:47
103 The Devil - Chorale Vocal Mary Lou Williams 4:05
104 Miss D.D. Mary Lou Williams 2:33
105 Anima Christi - Chorale Vocal Mary Lou Williams 2:51
201 A Grand Nite for Swinging Mary Lou Williams 2:54
202 My Blue Heaven Mary Lou Williams 3:12
203 Dirge Blues Mary Lou Williams 3:29
204 A Fungus Amungus Mary Lou Williams 3:00
205 Praise the Lord - Chorale Vocal Mary Lou Williams 6:02
Comments powered by Disqus