Lightnin' Hopkins

Lightnin' Hopkins

Lightnin' Hopkins SFW40019

Sam Charters recorded legendary, Texas country bluesman Sam "Lightnin'" Hopkins in 1959 before the revival of rural blues or country music. Nonetheless, this recording of Hopkins's first acoustic sessions was met with immediate critical acclaim and soon became recognized as a blues classic. Updated notes by Sam Charters and superbly remastered sound make this an invaluable reissue. "Hopkins's charm and wit shine as brightly as his sensual encyclopedic blues mastery." — Boston Globe

Year Released 1990
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 1990 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) Blues
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) African American
Instrument(s) Guitar; Vocals
Language(s) English
Subject(s) Blues

Download Liner Notes

101 Penitentiary Blues Lightnin' Hopkins 2:55 Not Available for Download
102 Bad Luck and Trouble Lightnin' Hopkins 3:49 Not Available for Download
103 Come Go Home with Me Lightnin' Hopkins 3:56 Not Available for Download
104 Trouble Stay `Way from My Door Lightnin' Hopkins 2:10 Not Available for Download
105 See That My Grave is Kept Clean Lightnin' Hopkins 3:13 Not Available for Download
201 Goin' Back to Florida Lightnin' Hopkins 2:17 Not Available for Download
202 Reminiscenses of Blind Lemon Lightnin' Hopkins 2:47 Not Available for Download
203 Fan It Lightnin' Hopkins 2:36 Not Available for Download
204 Tell Me, Baby Lightnin' Hopkins 4:18 Not Available for Download
205 She's Mine Lightnin' Hopkins 4:18 Not Available for Download
Comments powered by Disqus

Folkways Suggests is a new feature that displays related content based on artist names, countries and genres. Feedback is welcomed via email at