Kilby Snow: Country Songs and Tunes with Autoharp

Kilby Snow: Country Songs and Tunes with Autoharp

Kilby Snow FW03902 / FA 3902

Recorded over three days on the stage of an auditorium near Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, Kilby Snow sings and plays autoharp on this 1969 Folkways release. Snow began playing the autoharp at just three years old. By the time he was five, he won first prize of $20 in gold at a fiddler's convention. Liner notes include an introductory essay by Snow as well as notes on a number of the album’s songs.

Year Released 1969
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1969 Folkways Records
Genre(s) Old Time
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Autoharp; Banjo; Guitar; Hawaiian guitar; Spoons (Musical instrument); Sticks (Musical instrument)
Subject(s) Ballads; Dance; Folk songs--United States; Gospel music; Hymns; Instrumental music; Love songs; Marriage; Murder; Music--Appalachian Region, Southern.; Nonsense literature; Political ballads and songs; Religious; Sentimental; Temperance; Wit and humor

Download Liner Notes

101 Molly Hare Kilby Snow 1:48
102 Greenback Dollar Kilby Snow 1:47
103 Wind and Rain Kilby Snow 3:08
104 Budded Roses Kilby Snow 3:29
105 Sourwood Mountain Kilby Snow 1:49
106 The Cannonball Kilby Snow 2:13
107 Mean Women Kilby Snow 2:37
108 The Road That's Walked by Fools Kilby Snow 2:07
109 Autoharp Special Kilby Snow 3:46
201 I Will Arise Kilby Snow 3:05
202 The Old Crossroads Kilby Snow 2:18
203 No Tears in Heaven Kilby Snow 2:32
204 Lonely Tombs Kilby Snow 3:12
205 Flop Eared Mule Kilby Snow 1:43
206 'Round Town Girls Kilby Snow 1:56
207 Two-Timing Blues Kilby Snow 3:17
208 Woodrow for President Kilby Snow 2:07
209 Shady Grove Kilby Snow 2:36
Comments powered by Disqus