Talking Blues

Talking Blues

John Greenway FW05232 / FH 5232

Singer and folklorist John Greenway focuses on his specialty, labor and protest songs, in this 1958 album. In addition to the "original" talking blues tune by Chris Bouchillon, which appeared on a 1926 recording, Greenway performs a number of Woody Guthrie's talking blues tunes ("Talking Dust Bowl," "Talking Subway") and The Almanac Singers' "Talking Union."

With an introduction by John Greenway, liner notes by folklorist Kenneth Goldstein include lyrics, song descriptions, and illustrations and photographs that give further dimension to the songs.

Year Released 1958
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1958 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Guitar; Vocals
Language(s) English
Subject(s) Folk songs--United States; Folksong revival; Talking Blues

Download Liner Notes

101 Talking Guitar Blues John Greenway 2:42
102 Original Talking Blues John Greenway 3:29
103 Talking Butcher John Greenway 2:53
104 New Talking Blues John Greenway 3:30
105 Talking Dust Bowl John Greenway 3:07
106 Dry Voters, Wet Drinkers John Greenway 1:58
107 Talking Columbia Blues John Greenway 1:56
108 Talking Miner (Talking Centralia) John Greenway 3:46
201 Talking Union John Greenway 3:22
202 Talking Sailor John Greenway 2:42
203 Talking Social Worker John Greenway 2:34
204 Talking Subway John Greenway 3:31
205 Talking Inflation Blues John Greenway 2:55
206 Old Man Atom John Greenway 3:56
207 I Like Ike John Greenway 7:00
Comments powered by Disqus