Songs of Joe Hill

Songs of Joe Hill

Joe Glazer FW02039 / FA 2039

Sung by labor educator Joe Glazer, this album features songs by union organizer Joe Hill. Although these songs are rooted in their time, their messages are still relevant today, and this collection is valuable to scholars and fans of labor music alike.

Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk; Historical Song; Struggle & Protest
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Guitar; Vocals
Subject(s) Folk songs--United States; Labor unions; Labor unions--Songs and music.; United States History; Working class--Songs and music

Download Liner Notes

101 Joe Hill Joe Glazer 2:40
102 We Will Sing One Song Joe Glazer 2:06
103 Scissor Bill Joe Glazer 1:37
104 Mr. Block Joe Glazer 2:36
105 The Rebel Girl Joe Glazer 2:32
201 The Preacher and the Slave ("Pie in the Sky") Joe Glazer 2:55
202 There Is Power in a Union Joe Glazer 2:46
203 Casey Jones (The Union Scab) Joe Glazer 2:05
204 The Tramp Joe Glazer 2:22
205 Joe Hill's Last Will Joe Glazer 1:02
Comments powered by Disqus