American Ballads And Folksongs

American Ballads And Folksongs

Joan O'Bryant FW02338 / SA 2338

Like Joan O'Bryant's previous Folkways recording, Folksongs and Ballads of Kansas, this album presents folk songs geographically close to O'Bryant's heart. Most of the ballads included here are versions from Kansas, Arkansas, and Missouri, and several were collected through the University of Arkansas Folklore Research Project.


Como la anterior grabación Folkways de Joan O'Bryant, Canciones populares y baladas de Kansas, este album presenta canciones populares geográficamente cercanas al corazón de O'Bryant.

La mayoría de las baladas aquí incluídas son versiones de Kansas, Arkansas y Missouri y muchas de ellas fueron coleccionadas a través del Proyecto de investigación de folclor de la Universidad de Arkansas.

Year Released 1958
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1958 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Guitar; Vocals
Subject(s) Ballads; Broadsides; Complaint; Cowboys--Songs and music; Folksong revival; Laments; Love songs; Maritime; Marriage; Murder; Opera; Spirituals (Songs); Supernatural; Wit and humor; Work songs

Download Liner Notes

101 Single Girl Joan O'Bryant 2:35
102 The Stern Old Bachelor Joan O'Bryant 1:19
103 Life is a Toil Joan O'Bryant 3:58
104 The Promised Land Joan O'Bryant 2:24
105 The House Carpenter's Wife Joan O'Bryant 4:30
106 The Trail to Mexico Joan O'Bryant 3:34
107 The Lily of the West Joan O'Bryant 3:19
108 The Cuckoo Joan O'Bryant 3:02
201 I'm on My Way Joan O'Bryant 2:27
202 A Sailor's Life Joan O'Bryant 4:13
203 Keep Your Hand on the Plow Joan O'Bryant 3:35
204 The Maiden on the Plains Joan O'Bryant 2:57
205 The Soldier's Wife Joan O'Bryant 2:45
206 Marble Town Joan O'Bryant 2:25
207 The Texas Rangers Joan O'Bryant 2:46
208 Tom Sherman's Barroom Joan O'Bryant 3:30
Comments powered by Disqus