Songs with Guy Carawan

Songs with Guy Carawan

Guy Carawan FW03544 / FG 3544

Inspired by the urban folk song revival in late-1940s Los Angeles, Guy Carawan began listening to field recordings of folk songs in the Library of Congress. With his developing interest in world folk music, he also traveled to China, Russia, and Europe. In 1958 he released this diverse collection of folk songs. Liner notes include an account by Carawan of his musical and personal journey, along with song lyrics and a history of each track. The result provides insight into the life of a man whose virtues have brought him credit both as a civil rights activist and a musician.

Year Released 1958
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1958 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Banjo; Bass; Flute; Guitar; Vocals
Subject(s) Adunke; Agriculture; Animals; Banjo music; Blues; Celebrations; Christmas music; Courtship; Dance; Disasters; Folksong revival; Holiday; Instrumental music; Love songs; Nonsense literature; Protest songs; Spirituals (Songs); Wit and humor; Work songs

Download Liner Notes

101 Old Blue Guy Carawan 3:05
102 Cripple Creek Guy Carawan 2:21
103 Whoa Buck! Guy Carawan 2:58
104 Three Little Pigs Guy Carawan 1:12
105 Boll Weevil Guy Carawan 2:33
106 Brazos Guy Carawan 2:54
107 Buffalo Gals Guy Carawan 1:46
108 Virgin Mary Guy Carawan 2:38
109 Sinner Man Guy Carawan 1:53
201 The Water is Wide Guy Carawan 3:21
202 Sourwood Mountain Guy Carawan 1:50
203 Weary Blues Guy Carawan 2:14
204 The Little Black Flies Guy Carawan 3:33
205 This is the Way I Feel Guy Carawan 3:10
206 Hava Na Gila - Hava Na Geela - Hava Nagila Guy Carawan 2:00
207 Chinese Flute Guy Carawan 0:49
208 Katusha Guy Carawan 1:38
209 Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream Guy Carawan 2:20
Comments powered by Disqus