Friends of Old Time Music: The Folk Arrival 1961 - 1965

Friends of Old Time Music: The Folk Arrival 1961 - 1965

Various Artists SFW40160

From 1961 to 1965, New York City’s trailblazing Friends of Old Time Music presented 14 concerts that brought dozens of legendary traditional musicians before city audiences for the first time. This "folk arrival" changed the course of American folk music, expanding the vision of the Folk Song Revival and leaving an indelible mark on the musical landscape. For Friends of Old Time Music, Peter K. Siegel, who personally recorded most of the concerts, handpicked 55 tracks from the original master tapes. They include the first concert appearances by Doc Watson, Roscoe Holcomb, Clarence Ashley, and Joseph Spence, and the triumphant return visits to New York by Dock Boggs and Mississippi John Hurt, who had made classic recordings in the city during the 1920s. Three CDs of live concert recordings. 55 tracks, including 53 never before released tracks. Accompanied by a richly illustrated 60-page book. Recorded, produced, and annotated by Peter K. Siegel A Henry Street Folklore production Produced in association with City Lore, Inc.

Little Birdie
Remembering Hazel Dickens

Year Released 2006
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2006 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) American Folk; Bluegrass; Blues; Gospel; Old Time
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) African American; Anglo-American; Bahamian
Instrument(s) Autoharp; Banjo; Bass; Cane Fife; Fiddle; Guitar; Handclapping; Harmonica; Kazoo; Mandolin; Tambourine; Vocals; Washboard
Language(s) English

Download Liner Notes

101 I'm Troubled Doc and Arnold Watson 3:10
102 The Country Blues Dock Boggs 4:24
103 Going Down to the River Fred McDowell 3:09
104 East Virginia Blues Roscoe Holcomb 4:51
105 The Storms Are on the Ocean Maybelle Carter 3:03
106 The Dream of the Miner's Child The Stanley Brothers 4:03
107 Soldier's Joy Hobart Smith 1:45
108 Coffee Blues Mississippi John Hurt 4:47
109 Live and Let Live Bill Monroe and His Blue Grass Boys 2:46
110 Lonely Tombs The Watson Family 2:25
111 Rockin' Boogie Jesse Fuller 3:46
112 Brown's Dream Gaither Carlton and Doc Watson 1:43
113 Down South Blues Dock Boggs 3:17
114 Knoxville Blues Sam McGee 2:30
115 Have a Feast Here Tonight The Stanley Brothers 3:12
116 Riley John Davis and the Georgia Sea Island Singers 2:09
117 Buck and Wing Jesse Fuller 1:22
201 Hell Among the Yearlings Arthur Smith 1:47
202 Amelia Earhart's Last Flight The Greenbriar Boys 3:47
203 The Brakeman's Blues Bill Monroe and His Blue Grass Boys 2:32
204 Foggy Mountain Top Maybelle Carter 2:07
205 Hicks' Farewell Doc Watson 5:00
206 Jordan is a Hard Road to Travel The New Lost City Ramblers 2:42
207 Write Me a Few of Your Lines Fred McDowell 2:54
208 Bimini Gal Joseph Spence 2:44
209 Shady Grove Bill Monroe and His Blue Grass Boys 1:37
210 Grey Eagle Bill Monroe and His Blue Grass Boys 1:36
211 Walkin' the Dog Bill Monroe and His Blue Grass Boys 2:03
212 San Francisco Bay Blues Jesse Fuller 3:24
213 Short Life of Trouble Doc and Arnold Watson 3:41
214 John Henry Roscoe Holcomb 1:59
215 Kneelin' Down Inside the Gate Stanley Thompson 3:45
216 Tell Me Why You Like Roosevelt McKinley Peebles 4:29
217 Bury Me Under the Weeping Willow Maybelle Carter 2:34
218 Mansions for Me The Stanley Brothers 2:27
219 Before This Time Another Year Bessie Jones and the Georgia Sea Island Singers 5:02
301 My Creole Belle Mississippi John Hurt 2:54
302 Guitar Lesson Jesse Fuller 1:26
303 Cincinnati Blues Jesse Fuller 2:27
304 Poor Boy in Jail Dock Boggs 2:41
305 He's Solid Gone Maybelle Carter 2:44
306 Maggie Walker Blues The Clarence Ashley Group 3:43
307 Chevrolet Ed Young and Emma Ramsay 3:14
308 Rising Sun Blues Roscoe Holcomb 3:03
309 Lord, Build Me a Cabin in Glory Bill Monroe and His Blue Grass Boys 1:37
310 Frankie and Albert Mississippi John Hurt 5:20
311 Hard Times The Stanley Brothers 2:23
312 The Miller's Will Horton Barker 3:17
313 The Coo Coo Bird Clarence Ashley 4:04
314 Double File Gaither Carlton and Doc Watson 1:30
315 The Wandering Boy Annie Bird 3:22
316 Stranger Blues Jesse Fuller 3:29
317 I Saw the Light Bill Monroe and His Blue Grass Boys 2:24
318 Sugar Hill Maybelle Carter 1:06
319 Amazing Grace The Clarence Ashley Group 4:29
Comments powered by Disqus