African American Legacy Series: A Life of Song

African American Legacy Series: A Life of Song

Ella Jenkins SFW45067

In A Life of Song, Ella Jenkins, “The First Lady of Children’s Music,” offers stories and songs that speak to her youthful years as an African American child in a multi-cultural world. Her career of more than a half century earned her the first Lifetime Achievement Grammy award for a children’s music artist, and her more than thirty recordings teach us to learn from one another while taking pride in our own heritage. This African American Legacy recording of Ella singing with children from the Cool Classics after-school program spotlights her own heritage while showing her delight for the traditions of others. 36 minutes, lyrics, photos, 28-page booklet.

This recording is the sixth release in the Smithsonian Folkways African American Legacy Series, co-presented with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture.

Please enjoy a free download of “He’s Got the Whole World In His Hands”

He’s Got the Whole World In His Hands FLAC MP3

“We Love You Ella!”
Ella Reflects On Her Work
Call & Response

Sound Sessions from Smithsonian Folkways - Interview with Ella Jenkins

Teach Clapping Games in Your Classroom

Ella Jenkins Artist Spotlight

Year Released 2011
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2011 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) African American Music; American Folk; Children's
Country(s) United States
Instrument(s) Baritone ukulele; Drum; Guitar; Harmonica; Vocals

Download Liner Notes

101 Pick a Bale of Cotton Ella Jenkins 4:18
102 One Two Three O’Leary Ella Jenkins w/children 1:15
103 Calling a Square Dance Ella Jenkins 0:40
104 Black Royalty Ella Jenkins 1:45
105 Little Sally Walker Ella Jenkins w/children 1:13
106 Cotton-Eyed Joe Ella Jenkins 1:19
107 I Want to Be Ready Ella Jenkins 1:37
108 He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands Ella Jenkins w/children 1:47
109 Swing Low, Sweet Chariot Ella Jenkins w/children 1:36
110 Rock My Soul in the Bosom of Abraham Ella Jenkins 1:15
111 Standing in the Need of Prayer Ella Jenkins 1:06
112 Amazing Grace Ella Jenkins 3:23
113 Somebody’s Talking about Freedom Ella Jenkins 1:49
114 Sadie Complete Ella Jenkins 2:14
115 Uncle Flood and the Blues Ella Jenkins 2:07
116 Milk Cow Blues Ella Jenkins 0:45
117 Summertime Ella Jenkins 2:20
118 The Cuckoo Ella Jenkins 2:04
119 The Farmer in the Dell Ella Jenkins 1:17
120 This is Your Year, Children Ella Jenkins 0:59
121 I’m On My Way to Canaan Land Ella Jenkins w/children 1:35
Comments powered by Disqus