Freight Train and Other North Carolina Folk Songs and Tunes

Freight Train and Other North Carolina Folk Songs and Tunes

Elizabeth Cotten SFW40009

This complete reissue of Elizabeth Cotten's first LP is best known for containing the original recording of her classic Freight Train. The breadth of her repertoire and endearing style have captivated generations of guitarists and fans of traditional American music. Freight Train includes guitar and banjo accompanied songs and tunes and features Mike Seeger's updated notes that include comments on cotten's life, musical style and song lyrics. Cotten's self-taught, upside-down, left-handed style made her one of the most original guitar and banjo players in the history of American folk music. Several of her deeply personal compositions, such as the immortal Freight Train and Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie, are included. "...[A] classic and belongs in every collection..." — Blues Review Quarterly

"A New Day for Old Time Music from the South"

Freight Train

Year Released 1989
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 1989 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) African American Music; American Folk
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) African American
Instrument(s) Banjo; Guitar; Vocals
Language(s) English
Subject(s) Blues; Folk songs--United States

Download Liner Notes

101 Wilson Rag Elizabeth Cotten 1:40
102 Freight Train Elizabeth Cotten 2:46
103 Going Down the Road Feeling Bad Elizabeth Cotten 2:12
104 I Don't Love Nobody Elizabeth Cotten 1:14
105 Ain't Got No Honey Baby Now Elizabeth Cotten 0:57
106 Graduation March Elizabeth Cotten 2:33
107 Honey Babe Your Papa Cares For You Elizabeth Cotten 2:15
108 Vastopol Elizabeth Cotten 2:11
109 Here Old Rattler Here / Sent For My Fiddle Sent For My Bow / George Buck Elizabeth Cotten 3:48
110 Run...Run / Mama Your Son Done Gone Elizabeth Cotten 2:19
111 Sweet Bye and Bye / What A Friend We Have In Jesus Elizabeth Cotten 3:02
112 Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie Elizabeth Cotten 4:43
113 Spanish Flang Dang Elizabeth Cotten 2:51
114 When I Get Home Elizabeth Cotten 2:23
Comments powered by Disqus