Dave Van Ronk Sings

Dave Van Ronk Sings

Dave Van Ronk FW02383 / FA 2383

Born in Brooklyn in 1936, Dave Van Ronk was Bob Dylan's "first New York guru," writes Dylan's biographer Robert Shelton. "Dave Van Ronk was the musical mayor of MacDougal Street," Shelton continues, "and...a walking museum of the blues." This album features fifteen songs, including a parody of "Nearer My God to Thee": "Georgie and the IRT."

Year Released 1961
Record Label Folkways Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1961 Folkways Records
Genre(s) American Folk; Blues
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) Anglo-American
Instrument(s) Guitar; Vocals
Language(s) English
Subject(s) Blues; Folksong revival

Download Liner Notes

101 Bed Bug Blues Dave Van Ronk 2:46
102 Yas-Yas-Yas Dave Van Ronk 2:09
103 Please See That My Grave Is Kept Clean Dave Van Ronk 2:56
104 Tell Old Bill Dave Van Ronk 4:24
105 Georgie and the IRT Dave Van Ronk 3:35
106 Hesitation Blues Dave Van Ronk 2:36
107 Hootchy Kootchy Man Dave Van Ronk 3:15
108 Sweet Substitute Dave Van Ronk 2:36
201 Dink's Song Dave Van Ronk 3:46
202 River Come Down Dave Van Ronk 3:47
203 Just a Closer Walk With Thee Dave Van Ronk 3:04
204 Come Back Baby Dave Van Ronk 3:55
205 Spike Driver's Moan Dave Van Ronk 3:17
206 Standing By My Window Dave Van Ronk 5:00
207 Willie the Weeper Dave Van Ronk 3:01
Comments powered by Disqus