Classic Protest Songs from Smithsonian Folkways

Classic Protest Songs from Smithsonian Folkways

Various Artists SFW40197

War, social injustice, personal plaints, and calls for action have long fueled musical creation and performance. In Classic Protest Songs, Mark Gustafson and Jeff Place tap the historic Smithsonian audio collections to compile 22 songs favored by leaders of antiwar, civil rights, industrial labor, farm worker, and other struggles to air their grievances. Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Janis Ian, Big Bill Broonzy, Pete Seeger, Barbara Dane, Guy Carawan, Phil Ochs, and other marquee artists let their voices ring out with calls for peace and justice. 71 mins, 22 tracks, 32 page booklet.

"Protest Songs: A Musical Introduction"

Year Released 2009
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2009 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) African American Music; American Folk; Struggle & Protest
Culture Group(s) Hispanic
Instrument(s) Autoharp; Banjo; Bass; Clapping; Drum; Fiddle; Flute; Guitar; Harmonica; Piano; Vocals
Language(s) Spanish

Download Liner Notes

101 Freedom Now Chant Mass-meeting participants in Hattiesburg, Mississippi 0:26
102 Jesus Christ Woody Guthrie 2:37
103 Bourgeois Blues Lead Belly 2:18
104 Black, Brown, and White Bill Broonzy 2:42
105 Baby, I’ve Been Thinking (aka Society’s Child) Janis Ian 2:41
106 Blowin' in the Wind The New World Singers 2:28
107 This Land Is Your Land Steve Forbert, Jack Hardy, Jill Burkee, and Mark Dann 4:39
108 Turn, Turn, Turn Liz Getz 3:04
109 As Long as the Grass Shall Grow Peter La Farge 5:07
110 Talking Pay TV Phil Ochs 2:34
111 Masters of War The Bergerfolk 4:07
112 Waist Deep in the Big Muddy Pete Seeger 2:57
113 Agent Orange Song Peggy Seeger 3:51
114 Strange Fruit Brother John Sellers 2:20
115 How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live The New Lost City Ramblers 3:34
116 I’m Going to Write the Governor of Georgia Champion Jack Dupree 3:13
117 When We Make It Through Barbara Dane 5:25
118 Evicted Tenant Sis Cunningham 2:06
119 Corrido de César Chávez Los Perros del Pueblo Nuevo 3:02
120 Gone, Gone, Gone Red Shadow, the Economic Rock and Roll Band 2:14
121 Spirits of the Revolution Larry Estridge 5:09
122 We Shall Overcome Guy Carawan 3:40
Comments powered by Disqus