Classic Labor Songs from Smithsonian Folkways

Classic Labor Songs from Smithsonian Folkways

Various Artists SFW40166

Songs of the American labor movement over the 20th century called for just wages, dignity, and a fair shake. They voiced grievances, affirmed the value of the worker to society, and expressed hope for life in a more just world. Classic Labor Songs from Smithsonian Folkways is a collage of these voices—champions of the movement, singing songs with a passion and love for their fellow workers that rings just as true today as it did then. Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Joe Glazer, the Almanac Singers, and more chronicle the history of the American labor movement in stirring song.


Lyric transcriptions as permissible by the publisher available here.

Political Songs

Year Released 2006
Record Label Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2006 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Genre(s) American Folk; Struggle & Protest
Country(s) United States
Culture Group(s) American; Hispanic
Instrument(s) Accordion; Banjo; Bass; Dobro; Drum; Fiddle; Guitar; Handclapping; Harmonica; Keyboards; Mandolin; Piano; Vocals
Language(s) English; Spanish

Download Liner Notes

101 Joe Hill Paul Robeson 3:01
102 Bread and Roses Bobbie McGee 2:30
103 Casey Jones (The Union Scab) Pete Seeger and the Almanac Singers 1:55
104 We Shall Not Be Moved / Roll the Union On Joe Glazer 2:23
105 Roll the Union On John Handcox 1:07
106 Cotton Mill Colic Mike Seeger 2:38
107 The Mill Was Made of Marble Joe Glazer 3:59
108 Aragon Mill Peggy Seeger 3:09
109 Talking Union Almanac Singers 3:02
110 1913 Massacre Woody Guthrie 3:36
111 The Preacher and the Slave Utah Phillips 2:19
112 Which Side are You On? Florence Reece / The Almanac Singers 2:35
113 Hold the Fort Joe Uehlein 3:58
114 Union Maid New Harmony Sisterhood Band 3:06
115 Too Old to Work Joe Glazer 2:51
116 Black Lung Hazel Dickens 3:22
117 Been Rolling So Long (Truck Driving Man) Larry Penn 4:00
118 VDT Tom Juravich 1:56
119 Automation Joe Glazer 2:34
120 I’m Union and I’m Proud Eddie Starr 2:57
121 I’m a Union Card Kenny Winfree 2:27
122 Carpal Tunnel John O'Connor 2:37
123 We Just Come to Work Here, We Don’t Come to Die Anne Feeney 2:49
124 One Day More Elaine Purkey 3:38
125 We Do the Work Jon Fromer 2:41
126 De Colores Baldemar Velasquez and Aguila Negra 2:59
127 Solidarity Forever Joe Glazer 2:28
Comments powered by Disqus