Angola: Victory Is Certain

Angola: Victory Is Certain

Various Artists PAR01002

Between 1961 and 1975, the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) presented a revolutionary front against the Portugese colonialists. This album, recorded in the midst of the insurrection, features a wide array of songs associated with the MPLA’s struggle. The songs as well as the liner notes by Agostinho Neto (who became Angola’s first president) capture much of the zeal and idealism that typified the MPLA during the pre-independence period.

Year Released 1970
Record Label Paredon Records
Source Archive Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Copyright 2004 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings / 1970 Paredon Records
Genre(s) Historical Song; Struggle & Protest; World
Country(s) Angola
Subject(s) Political ballads and songs; World music

Download Liner Notes

101 Revolution, Revolution / Shouts, Drums and Singing n/a 3:39
102 Victory or Death / MPLA, Defender of All the People / MPLA (sung in Umbundu) / Angolan Revolution n/a 3:57
103 Spoken Introduction / Allelujah / Papa Ni Mama n/a 4:24
104 Untitled Fragments n/a 2:04
105 The Comandante is with the Revolution / Comandante Come in a Hurry / Brothers, Listen n/a 4:15
106 My Heart Breathes / Seperation is Easy / The Portuguese in Angola / Portuguese Leave Angola n/a 5:35
107 Anthem of the MPLA n/a 3:25
201 MPLA Invulusi n/a 3:38
202 Monetu ua Kassule n/a 5:34
203 Deba n/a 1:50
204 Dr. Neto n/a 2:27
205 Ditumina n/a 1:57
206 Ufolo n/a 1:29
207 Kaputu n/a 2:51
208 Etu Tuan' Angola n/a 4:04
209 Mon'a Ngamb' Eh! n/a 3:14
Comments powered by Disqus